Individual, organisational and corporate members of the Institute of Fundraising volunteers to support the work of our committees. Details of the current committees are as follows:

Standards Advisory Board

The Standards Advisory Board, advises the Board and staff team on issues around best practice in fundraising; positions the Institute needs to take in relation to regulatory and legal matters as they relate to fundraising; and oversees the Institute’s strategy for developing guidance and best practice resources to support and guide IoF members and the wider fundraising community. 

  • Liz Tait (Chair) - Director of Fundraising, Battersea Dogs and Cats Home (IoF trustee)
  • Danielle Atkinson - Head of Individual Giving, Plan International UK (IoF trustee)
  • Graham Bunce - Director of Operations, APPCO Group
  • Joe Jenkins - Director of Fundraising and Supporter Engagement, The Children’s Society
  • Richard Verden - Head of Individual Giving, British Red Cross
  • Meredith Niles - Executive Director of Fundraising and Engagement, Marie Curie
  • Richard Bowyer - Director of Marketing and Public Fundraising, Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Ed Tait - Director of Fundraising, Crisis
  • Sally-Anne Hunter - Capital Appeal Director, Raeburn Place Foundation
  • Neil Irwin - Trusts and Foundations Manager, Northern Ireland Hospice
  • Clare Beavan - Foundation Manager, DWF LLP
  • Lewis Coghlin - Director of Fundraising, Cats Protection
  • Mike Wade - ‎Director of Fundraising & Communications, National Deaf Children's Society 


Policy Advisory Board

This Committee advises the Board and the staff team on the policy priorities and policy positions we take, including, for example, developing the Fundraising manifesto. We consult regularly on our policy positions through surveys and roundtables.

  • Tim Hunter (Chair) - Director of Fundraising, Oxfam (IoF trustee) 
  • Di Flatt - Yorkshire Campaign Manager, Maggie's Centres
  • Vijay Jassal - Interim Head of Fundraising Strategy, ‎British Red Cross
  • Steve Greenberg - ‎Acting Director of Fundraising, RNIB 
  • Valerie Morton - Consultant
  • Chris Washington-Sare - ‎Managing Director, Pentatonic Marketing
  • Claire Whitney - ‎Supporter Marketing Manager, Scope
  • Georgina Wilson - ‎Director of Fundraising, School of Hard Knocks Charity
  • Joel Voysey - ‎Director of Fundraising, The Hospice of St Francis
  • Nick Mason - Consultant
  • Peter Ashcroft - ‎Director of Strategy and Performance, Save the Children UK
  • Rachel Kirby-Rider - ‎Director of Income & Engagement, CLIC Sargent
  • Sam Butler - Director of Fundraising & Communications, Tibet Relief Fund
  • Sophie Hutchinson - Director of Strategy & Operations, King's College London
  • Catherine Deakin - ‎Senior Business Development Manager, Tommy's


Learning and Development Committee

This committee is responsible for guiding the development of our professional development programmes. It has taken the lead on developing our qualifications framework and more recently on our potential move towards Chartered status. 

  • Kath Abrahams (Chair) - Director of Engagement and Fundraising, Diabetes UK (IoF trustee)
  • Amanda Oxford - Consultant, Oxford Associates
  • Caryn Skinner - Director, Sharpstone Skinner
  • Catherine Cottrell - Deputy Executive Director, Fundraising, UNICEF
  • Claire Singlehurst - Director of Relationship Fundraising, Macmillan Cancer Support
  • Dan Fletcher - Deputy Director, Kingston Smith LLP
  • Frances Milner - Executive Director of Philanthropy & Partnerships, Cancer Research UK
  • Jane Banks - Consultant, Independent Consultant
  • Karen McKenzie - Income Generation Director, Douglas Macmillan Hospice
  • Kurstin Finch-Gnehm - Regular Giving Manager, Direct Marketing - Advancement Division, Imperial College London
  • Loretta Bresciani - Senior Manager, Volunteer Fundraising, Cancer Research UK
  • Michelle Chambers - Managing Director, THINK
  • Paul Farthing - CEO, Aspinall Foundation
  • Sarah Carter -Head of Leadership, Home Fundraising Limited


Finance and Resources Committee

The Finance and Resources Committee is responsible for overseeing all financial and resources aspects of the Institute so as to ensure short and long term viability and reports back to the Board accordingly.

  • Helen Elliott (Chair & Honorary Treasurer) – Partner, Sayer Vincent
  • Nick Brooks – Partner, Kingston Smith LLP
  • Irene Chambers – Fundraising Manager, Kidneys for Life (IoF Trustee and member of IoF North West Committee)
  • Emily Drayson – Fundraising Researcher (IoF Trustee)
  • Lauren Kininmonth - Head of Retail Finance & Support Operations, Cancer Research UK
  • Martin Price – Consultant, Consultancy Co-op (Chair of IoF Wales Committee)
  • Kathryn Trower – Director of Finance, Action for Children


Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee is responsible for  overseeing the application and selection processes for elected and co-opted Trustees of the Institute and promoting and advising on nominations for the Institute’s and National honours including the Lifetime Contribution Award and Fellowship of the Institute and recommending suitable recipients to the Board.

  • Kevin Kibble, (Chair) - CEO, Nurture Group Network
  • Dianne Flatt – Yorkshire Campaigns Manager, Maggie's Centre (Chair of IoF Yorkshire Committee)
  • Stephen George – Consultant (IoF Vice Chair &Trustee)
  • Alan Gosschalk – CEO, British Asian Trust
  • Gary Kernahan – Head of Regional Development, Muscular Dystrophy (member of IoF Scottish Executive Committee)
  • Lorna Montgomery – Eventus Fundraising


Fundraising Convention Board

The Convention Board is not a formal sub-committee of the IoF but has a vital role in setting the programme for Fundraising Convention. It has 24 members on it, specialists in their fields. View members of the Convention board.


Groups Committees

Our Special Interest and Regional groups, along with IoF Northern Ireland are run by enthusiastic and devoted Committee members. Head to the Groups section of our site to find out how you can get involved with your local IoF group.